Mahmud Yakubu is new INEC Chairman


President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed Professor Mahmud Yakubu as new Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Yakubu, whose appointment was confirmed at the emergency Council of State meeting Wednesday by the president, replaces Attahiru Jega who left the commission recently.

Sokoko State Governor Aminu Tambuwal said the appointment of the new INEC boss was in line with relevant provisions of the 1999 Constitution and in consultation with the Council of State.

Five new national commissioners were also named for the commission.

They are Amina Zakari (North-West); Anthonia Okoosi-Simbine (North Central); Baba Shettima Arfo (North-East); Mohammed Mustafa Lecky (South-South) and Soyebi Adedeji Solomon (South-West).

The South-East still have a sitting national commissioner.

Comments are closed.