Ex-Lagos Governor, Fashola gets enlarged ministry as Buhari inaugurates cabinet


In recognition of his achievements in Lagos state while he was the governor, President Muhammadu Buhari has given an enlarged Ministry of Power, Works and Housing to Babatunde Raji Fashola, making him the first cabinet member to occupy such position.

BRF as he is popularly called in Lagos will now coordinate activity of the ministry which is a merger of three.

Electricity has been a challenge to Nigeria and despite the billions of Naira spent by previous administrations, power at high cost, is still unstable in the country, crippling the economy.

Fashola is expected to bring his experience in turning Lagos state around to bear on the sector and the commodity for respite to NIgerians and investors who are at the receiving end of an epileptic sector.

This enviable role is not unexpected given his performance at the ministerial screening during which he tutored the senate on how he ruled Lagos and the way forward for the country and its economy.

President BUhari at the swearing in ceremony surprised many with the distribution of the portfolios. The most surprising is the assignment of Lt Generel Dambazzau to the INterior ministry instead of Defence which many had touted.

With the inauguration of the cabinet, five months after Buhari’s assumption of office, governance is expected to begin in full throttle to again put a bite to the economy that has dragged since late last year due to electioneering.

Lai Mohammed is assigned information ministry while Rotimi Amaechi gets minister of transport, and Senator Udo Udoma handles the new Budget and National Planning Ministry.

Former finance commissioner, Ogun state Kemi Adeosun is back to a familiar terrain with her assignment to the Finance Ministry.

Senator Hadi Sirika will work with Amaechi in the Transport ministry as minister of state for aviation.

Audu Ogbeh gets Agriculture and rural development, while Kayode Fayemi is in charge of Solid Minerals ministry. Geoffrey  Onyeamah will be in charge of foreign affairs.

Below is the full List of ministers and their portfolios:

Rotimi Amaechi (Rivers)–  Minister of Transport

Chris Ngige (Anambra)–Minister of Labour and Employment

Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti)–Minister of Solid Minerals

Babatunde Fashola (Lagos)–Minister of Power, Works and Housing

Abdulrahman Dambazau (Kano)–Minister of Interior

Aisha Alhassan (Taraba)–Minister of Women Affairs

Ogbonnaya Onu (Ebonyi)–Science and Technology

Kemi Adeosun (Ogun)–Minister of Finance

Abubakar Malami (Kebbi)– Minister of Justice

Hadi Sirika (Katsina)–Minister of State for Aviation

Suleiman Adamu (Jigawa)–Minister of Water Resources

Solomon’ Sankara’ Dalong (Plateau)–Minister of Youths and Sports

Ibe Kachikwu (Delta)–Minister of State for Petroleum

Osagie Ehanire (Edo)–Minister of State for Health

Audu Ogbeh (Benue)–Minister of Agriculture

Udo Udo Udoma (Akwa Ibom)–Minister of Budget and National Planning

Lai Mohammed (Kwara)–Minister of Information

Amina Mohammed (Gombe)–Minister of Environment

Ibrahim Usman Jibril (Nasarawa)–Minister of State, Environment

Anthony Onwuka (Imo), Minister State for Education

Muhammadu Bello (Adamawa)–Minister of FCT

Adamu Adamu (Bauchi)–Minister of Education

Okechukwu Enelamah (Abia)–Minister of Industry,  Trade and Investment

Aisha Abubakar (Sokoto)Minister of  State for Trade, Industry and Investment

Khadija Bukar Abba (Yobe) Minister of  State for Foreign Affairs

Claudius Daramola (Ondo)–Minister of State for Niger Delta Affairs

Geoffrey Onyeama (Enugu)–Minister of Foreign Affairs

Monsur Dan-Ali (Zamfara)–Minister of Defence

James Ocholi (Kogi) Minister of State for Labour

Zainab Ahmed (Kaduna) Minister of State for Budget

Mustapha Shehuri (Borno) Minister of State for Power

Heineken Lokpobiri (Bayelsa)–Minister of State for Agriculture

Isaac Adewole Folorunsho (Osun)–Minister of Health

Usani Usani Uguru (Cross River)–Minister of  Niger Delta

Abubakar Bwari Bawa (Niger)–Minister of State for Solid Minerals

Adebayo Shittu (Oyo)–Minister of Communications

Muhammadu Buhari–Minister of Petroleum

Comments are closed.