Appeal Court sacks two more Senators in Rivers State, orders re-run elections within 60 days


The Court of Appeal, Abuja Division has removed two more senators of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Rivers State having nullified their elections into the senate.

The two are Osinakachukwu Idoezu representing Rivers South-West Senatorial District and John Olaka-Nwogo representing Rivers South-East whose elections were nullified by the Appellate Court for failure of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to comply substantially with the provisions of the electoral act and other guidelines in the March 28 National Assembly Election.

A three man panel of justices led by Justice Ibrahim Gumel unanimously ordered for fresh elections to be conducted within sixty days for the two senatorial districts.

Delivering judgment in two separate appeals cases filed by Magnus Abbe and Otelemagba Dan-Amachree both of the All Progressive Congress (APC), the court held that the elections of the sacked senators were not properly conducted as required by law.

Justice Gumel held that from the available evidence of even the Independent National Electoral Commission and those of the appellants, the election of March 28th 2015 in Rivers State, did not conform with set guidelines such as the use of voter card reader machines, voter register and other election guidelines.

The Appellate Court held that from available evidence, all the polling units in the two senatorial districts abandoned the use of card reader machines thereby giving way to manipulations.

He added that there was no proper accreditation done on the election day as required by law adding that election without accreditation as in the instant case cannot stand in the face of the law, because an act done in  contravention of the law is nothing but a nullity and illegality.

It will be recalled that the Rivers State National Assembly Elections Tribunal Panel sitting in Abuja on Tuesday upheld the victory of Osinaka Ideuzo of the Peoples Democratic Party as the senator representing Rivers West Senatorial District at the Senate.

Comments are closed.