INEC to conduct 78 re-run elections in 2016


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) is to conduct 78 re-run elections in 2016, the commission said on Thursday in Abuja, in its daily bulletin.
The re-run elections will hold across the country, based on verdicts issued by the Court of Appeal.
“Most of the court verdicts were given in December 2015, while a few others were ordered in November 2015, and are expected to hold within 90 days or 60 days as ordered by the Appellate Court.
“A breakdown of the elections indicates that the Commission will conduct 10 Senatorial elections, 12 State Constituency elections and 37 State Assembly elections.
“Others are 17 Federal Constituency elections and 2 Governorship re-run elections, subject to the verdict of the Supreme Court,” the bulletin said.
The details of the elections show that 38 elections, including that of governorship would be conducted in Rivers State.
It also shows that eight elections, all on state constituency, would be conducted in Abia State.
The details also revealed that one rerun election would be held in Adamawa State, while seven, including governorship election, would be conducted in Akwa-Ibom State.
One election each would also be conducted in Anambra, Bayelsa, Benue, Kaduna, Nasarawa and Benue states, as well as two in Gombe State.
The details also show that four elections would be conducted in Imo State, six in Kogi, and three each in Plateau and Taraba. (NAN)

Comments are closed.