Dickson wins Bayelsa guber polls


Governor Seriake Dickson of Bayelsa State and governorship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has being re-elected for another term of four years.
Dickson trounced his closest rival, Chief Timipre Sylva of the All Progressives Congress (APC) with 134, 998 votes.
The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) cancelled the December 5, 2015 governorship election in Brass, Ekeremor, Kolokuma/Opokuma, Nembe, Ogbia, Sagbama, Southern Ijaw, Yenagoa- which led to the declaration of the governorship election as inconclusive.
The Resident Electoral Commissioner for Bayelsa State, Prof. Zana Akpagu, on Sunday, January 10, returned Dickson as elected governor of the state after the supplementary election of January 9, 2015.
In the December 5 election that resulted in bloodshed from violence and ballot boxes snatching and voting disruption, Dickson polled 105,748 votes while Sylva had 72,594 votes.
Other parties got various votes.  Total votes cast in the election were 232,167. Total rejected votes were 6,647 while total valid votes were 225,560.

Comments are closed.