Wendell Lira beats Lionel Messi to win Puskas award, Carli Lloyd wins women’s World Player of Year


Wendell Lira won the FIFA Puskas award, ahead of Lionel Messi, for the best goal at the Ballon d’Or ceremony.

The striker plays for Vila Nova in the third tier in Brazil but at the time of the goal was playing for Goianesia. He earnt his side a 2-1 win with the strike against Atletico-GO. It is a fantastic half-bicycle kick after he was put through on goal.

In the other awards, Carli Lloyd won the Women’s Player of the Year after leading the USA to World Cup glory. Oh and don’t forget her goal in the final.

The FIFPro World XI was dominated by Real Madrid and Barcelona.

As expected, the front three were the nominees for the overall prize –Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/Portugal), Lionel Messi (Barcelona/Argentina) and Neymar (Barcelona/Brazil).

Midfielder Paul Pogba (Juventus/France), goalkeeper Manuel Neuer(Bayern Munich/Germany) and defender Thiago Silva (PSG/Brazil) were the only three players outside of La Liga’s two powerhouse clubs to make the cut.

There was no place for Madrid’s James Rodriguez, however, or Juventus’Giorgio Chiellini, who was outstanding in defence during the Italian club’s run to the Champions League final.

Luis Enrique won the gong for the men’s Coach of the Year after he led Barcelona to five trophies – including the Champions League and La Liga. Bayern Munich coach Pep Guardiola was full of praise for the man that replaced him at the Catalan club. He told Eurosport: “Luis Enrique showed, that he is able to lead a big team and big stars. He deserved it.”

Jill Ellis was named as Coach of the Year for women’s football after leading the USA to the World Cup last year.

Comments are closed.