El-Rufai to chair APC Primaries Ahead Kogi Guber Polls

Ahead of Saturday’s gubernatorial primary in Kogi State,  the All Progressive Congress (APC)  in Kogi State on Wednesday inaugurated a 7 man committee that will conduct the primary election of the party in the  state to determine who will emerge as the sole flag bearer for the polls scheduled for November 29th 2015.
The committee which will be chaired by the governor of Kaduna State, Nasir El-Rufai also has Magnus Abbe as Secretary.
The committee also has  Ibrahim Sarki, Omorge Osifor, ‎Mohammad Wali,  Lanre Asiwaju and Greg Egwu as members. 
The National Organising Secretary of the APC, Osita Izunaso who charged the committee to live above board while discharging their responsibilities adviced that there was need for the committee members to convene a stakeholders meeting and inform the security agencies of their activities. 
He informed that the chairman of the will serve as the returning officer adding that the party will give them the necessary support in ensuring that they discharge their duties without intimidation for fear or favour of any of the aspirants. 
Isunazo reminded members of the committee that members of the state executives are to participate in the primaries but must not be allowed to interfere in the electioneering process. 
“You should hold a stakeholders meeting first and introduce yourselves as those who are called for these assignment, the party also requests that you should reach out to security agencies in Kogi State upon arrival, the SSS, the Police and other security agencies upon arrival so that they won’t say they were not informed, “he said.
“Once you start the accreditation, you cannot postpone, once you commence, you must complete and the winners will be announced on the spot, is not something you will go and compile and come back, it is not allowed.
“The aspirants with the highest number of votes shall be declared the winner.
“I want you to bear in mind, there is nothing like endorsement, maybe somebody will say he has been endorsed, there is nothing like that whatsoever, it is the people there that will choose” he said.
While inaugurating the committee, the Deputy Chairman North, Lawan Shaibu who stood in for the party’s national chairman John Oyegun said that the members of the committee were carefully chosen expressing optimism that they will conduct the exercise in a manner that will be fair to all actors.
He noted that there were human errors noticed in similar exercises conducted in the past urging that the committee should ensure those lapses were adequate checked in the coming primaries in Kogi State. 
In another development, the party on Wednesday began the sale of expression of interest and nomination forms for the Bayelsa State governorship elections.
First to pick the form at the party secretariat was Christopher Enai.
Enai, one time House of Representative member in his address expressed his readiness to liberate the state from the shackles of ‘bad’ governance if given the opportunity. 

Comments are closed.