Tinubu Seeks Senate’s Confirmation Of 11 Nominees As S’Court Justices


President Bola Tinubu has asked the Senate to confirm 11 nominees for appointment as Justices of the Supreme Court.

Senate President Godswill Akpabio read the President’s letter at plenary on Wednesday.

The Senate Committee on Judiciary and Legal Matters has therefore commenced screening for the 11 nominees recommended by the National Judicial Council.

Among the nominees is Justice Haruna Tsammani (North-East), who chaired the 2023 Presidential Election Petition Court.

Others are:

Hon. Justice Jummai Hannatu Sankey, OFR
Hon. Justice Chidiebere Nwaoma Uwa
Hon. Justice Chioma Egondu Nwosu-Iheme
Hon. Justice Moore Aseimo A. Adumein
Hon. Justice Obande Festus Ogbuinya
Hon. Justice Stephen Jonah Adah
Hon. Justice Habeeb Adewale O. Abiru
Hon. Justice Jamilu Yammama Tukur
Hon. Justice Abubakar Sadiq Umar
Hon. Justice Mohammed Baba Idris

When confirmed, the apex court will have the full complement of 21 justices, as envisaged by the Constitution.

Comments are closed.