Senate Passes Bill To Strengthen Secondary Education, Sends INEC Nominees To Committee


The Senate has passed the National Senior Secondary Education Commission Bill, 2022.

The bill’s passage was sequel to the consideration of a report by the Committee on Education (Basic and Secondary).

Senator Akon Eyakenyi (PDP – Akwa-Ibom South), in a presentation on behalf of the Committee’s Chairman, Senator Ibrahim Gaidam (APC – Yobe East), said the bill which has 33 clauses, seeks to repeal the existing Act on National Secondary Education Commission.

According to Eyakenyi, the bill when assented into law, would strengthen the legislative framework for the functioning of the Senior Secondary Education sector.

The lawmaker added that, “it also seeks to address the unfortunate abandonment of the Senior Secondary Education in Nigeria in terms of regulatory and financial intervention which hitherto has been extended to Primary and Junior Secondary Education through UBEC, and the Tertiary Education Institutions through TETFUND, NBTE, NCCE.”

“The bill also makes provision for the source of funding for the intervention and modalities for benefitting therefrom”, she said.

Meanwhile, the President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, has referred President Muhammadu Buhari’s request to confirm 19 nominees as Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to its Committee on Electoral Matters.

Those for screening include: Ibrahim Abdullahi (Adamawa – Renewal); Obo O. Effanga (Cross River – Renewal); Umar Ibrahim (Taraba – Renewal); Agboke Mutiu Olaleke (Ogun – Renewal); and Prof. Samuel E. Egwu (Kogi – Renewal).

Others are: Onyeka Pauline Ugochi (Imo); Prof. Muhammad Lawal Bashir (Sokoto); Prof. Ayobami Salami (Oyo); Amb. Zango Abdussamadu Abdu (Katsina); Queen Elizabeth Agwu (Ebonyi); and Agundu Oliver Tersoo (Benue).

Also to be screened by the Electoral Matters Committee are: Yomere Gabriel Oritsemlebi (Delta); Prof. Yahaya Makarfi Ibrahim (Kaduna); Dr. Nura Ali (Kano); Agu Sylvia Uchenna (Enugu); Ahmed Yushau Garki (FCT); Barr. Hudu Yunusa (Bauchi); Prof. Uzochukwu Ikemefuna Chijioke (Anambra); and Mohammed B. Nura (Yobe).

The upper chamber also referred the President’s request to confirm Dr. Suleman Agha Afikpo as Commissioner South East zone at the National Hajj Commission of Nigeria to the Committee on Foreign Affairs.

Also referred was a third request to confirm four nominees as Non-Executive Directors of the Board of the Central Bank of Nigeria.

The request was sent to the Committee on Banking, Insurance and Other Financial Institution.

The nominees to appear before the panel for screening are: Prof. Mike Idiahi Obadan (South South); Prof. Justitia Odinakachukwu Nnabuko (South East); Prof. Ummu Ahmed Jalingo (North East); and Adeola Adetunji (South West).

The three Committees were all given two weeks to screen the nominees and submit their reports to the upper chamber.